Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Striving for Perfection

After years and years of push backs and delays, Raekwon the Chef has finally released the tracklist and artwork for his long in the works magnum-opus, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx II. Needless to say I'm as excited about this album as a priest at an unsupervised day care (too far?). If you haven't heard the first Cuban Linx, you need to step your hip hop game up because it is known as one of the greatest hip hop cd's of all time. We're talking about legendary moments such as NaS' verse in "Verbal Intercourse," Method Man's hook on "Ice Cream," and Ghostface and Rae's "Criminology."

Cuban Linx II is set to drop September 8th, and you can bet it's gonna be one of the best hip hop cd's of the year with production from J Dilla (3 tracks!), Dr. Dre, Marley Marl, Pete Rock, Scram Jones, The Alchemist, and of course, RZA.

1) Return to the North Star (ft. Papa Wu) [Prod. by BT]
2) House of Flying Daggers (ft. Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah & Method Man) [Prod. by J Dilla]
3) Sonny's Missing [Prod. by Pete Rock]
4) Pyrex Vision [Prod. by Marley Marl]
5) Cold Outside (ft. Suga Bang & Ghostface Killah) [Prod. by Atl]
6) Godfather (ft. Inspectah Deck) [Prod. by RZA]
7) New Wu (ft. Method Man & Ghostface Killah) [Prod. by RZA]
8) Penitentiary (ft. Ghostface Killah) [Prod. by BT]
9) Criminology '09 (ft. Ghostface Killah) [Prod. by BT & RZA]
10) Fat Lady Sings [Prod. by RZA]
11) Canal Street
12) 10 Bricks (ft. Cappadonna & Ghostface Killah) [Prod. by J Dilla]
13) G-Hide (ft. Ghostface Killah) [Prod. by Necro]
14) Rockstar (ft. Inspectah Deck & GZA) [Prod. by RZA]
15) Catalina (ft. Busta Rhymes) [Prod. by Dr. Dre]
16) 40 Deuce (ft. Jadakiss & Styles P) [Prod. by Scram Jones]
17) Walk Wit Me [Prod. by Scram Jones]
18) We Will Rob You (ft. Slick Rick, GZA & Masta Killa) [Prod. by Allah Justice]
19) Have Mercy (ft. Beanie Sigel)
20) Surgical Gloves [Prod. by The Alchemist]
21) Nigga Me [Prod. by Dr. Dre]
22) Mean Streets (ft. Inspectah Deck) [Prod. by Allah Mathematics]
23) Kiss the Ring (ft. Inspectah Deck & Masta Killa) [Prod. by Scram Jones]
24) Ason Jones [Prod. by J Dilla]

According to Raekwon's twitter, he will be releasing the official first single "House of Flying Daggers" in the near future.

*At long last, Raekwon has graced us with the J Dilla produced single off of OB4CL2, "House of Flying Daggers," featuring Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah, and Method Man... Absolute Heat

Finally, The Hip-Hop Chronicle UK had a chance to listen to Cuban Linx II, and offered their review of the CD!

No comments:

Post a Comment